Am I Back?

The familiar streets, the same areas, bustling with the same attractive shops, and many new ones..Oh how i had longed to visit the same places all over again..
Sometimes you have it your way, sometimes you don’t!
My vacations to Bombay always consist of a few mental to-do’s. Few things, activities and people become so important that they’re almost followed like religion. Understood /unspoken.
Obviously Life moves on too, so coping with the past, connecting with the present and wondering about the future-all happened at the same time.
I enjoyed myself, realised a lot of new things (yes AGAin!–gosh i am like those new born babies who’ve suddenly opened their eyes to a new world), tried shopping (read: almost irritated my mum to the heights of insanity), ate so much that now i feel like a threat to my own wardrobe.
Right from the day i arrived, I had been eagerly awaiting the golden hour… He is an essential part of my trip..Never miss my daily visits. Always managed to drag one of my cousins with me, to acompany me while i journey down the lanes of Bittersweet tastes. I was informed that he’s out of town. Every single day I hoped he’d come back..didnt want to miss him entirely during this short trip. I’d almost given up hope. Yes i had paani puri almost every single day..at different places..but my original neighbourhood paanipuri wala was nowhere in sight..But he came. On the day before i was leaving. My cousin called out to me while we were crossing the road..he turned and gave me a big smile..Guess who’s here? I walked ahead..and saw him sitting at his usual place..Phew! Yipeee atleast I get to gorge on what in my opinion is the BEST paanipuri in the whole world..
If you-d have come earlier, you would have had a nice sale –joked my sister to the paanipuri wala..I gorged..to my hearts content..
It would be stupid to compare my trip to such an incident..but by the time i got used to the city and its attitudes and people, it was time to go back!
But I’m glad to be back home, cause despite cribbing about your city..you get used to it..and there’s nothing like good ol cal in my opinion.
 
psst/: I am now a proud owner of a brand new esprit watch..yipeee…ooh and i fed horses..jumped around in water kingdom…had the best rolls and slurped on chocolate milkshake around marine drive..err ok ok I’ll stop. BUT i request every soul reading this to go and try gooey chocolate at Mocha.
 
29 thoughts on “Am I Back?

  1. eh ladki!! paani puri et all haan?? good good..tats Bombai 4 u…lol…cool u went 2 Watr kingdom, marine drive & aannh…d milshake…good nah??..did u go 2 Gateway n try d Aarey milkshake der? n wht bout Bade Miya n Causeway?? n den Linking road & Lokhandwala?..ok try all dis out next time around..n ask me 4 more:D 😛
    yaa…NM…Umang…did u go der?? did u c d coll??
    k den…blog on …whoa..Esprit eh?/ naaaiiceee!! :D…tc
    Cheers \\m/, (+.+) ,\\m/

  2. ya ya ya – I know you had a blast at Bombay! So what I also had my short trip to Kolkata.

    I dont think u missed much; does it matter?

  3. Seems like a fun vacation to me. I havent had a chance to revisit mumbai after my last trip in 87. Wonder how much I get shocked when I go there again…but guess Bangalore\’s preparing me well for it with traffic jams even at odd hours 🙂
     
    As for more clues…hang around for a while and let\’s see if you\’ll really need \’em. Have a great weekend!

  4. Smone\’s had a grrr8 fun huh?! :):) Guess wot, bcuz of this stupid cold, m not able to have pani-puri 😦 what a pity!! :(:(
     
    Good luck fr d exams!

  5. I think Bombay absolutely rocks man! I had to make a client call to one of these firms in Bombay and the receptionist answered
    "Hi,May I speak with the Finance Manager please?" – Me in the most professional tone possible
    "Oh! wo to yahan nahi baithte,doosra number le lo" -Her
    "Acha, de do,aur unka naam bataingi please?"
    "Arre madam,wahan pe phone karke poochne ka na,wo bata degi" – In the best mo\\umbai manner I\’ve heard so far
    I was taken aback but it felt very good! LOL
    Glad to hear u had  ablast! So now enjoy back home with ur new watch,click a snap and send it to me or sumthin,wud wanna have a look,get inspired and maybe buy myelf one too 😉
    Pani puri…drroolllssss all over the screen and runs away! 😛

  6. so our dear darling had a blast of holidays- eating panipuri, buying watch(espirit, of course!), & feeding horses & splashing water around!
    must be rejuvenated…but exams come calling!! Poor sups but dinnae worry..u will handle them!
    study time
    Enjoy!
    love
    nidhi

  7. am glad ur back..hate mumbai, even without having ever actually been there…and i guess i always will… tho might change my mind if i find the food out theres good…

  8. aare .. i am doing good da .. no prob .. just a bit down that day .. but compensated it with the world cup match … 😀
     
    haha!! yeah!! i did the smart thing na ..  hahahahahah ..
     
    anyway .. thanks for the *hugs* … lol
     
    u too have fun

  9. hi,grt that you enjoyed your holiday!(i need one badly :-))have not really spent time in mumbai,but wd love to visit as my brother is now posted there!paani puris os golgappas as they are called here in delhi,SLURP!!
    thanks for drping by and be in tch
    sonia

  10. Oh yeah Falcon…SuperMan returns 🙂
     
    And you Ms Sups!! Why do you have to talk bout Pani Puri now? I fell sick for two days all because of the pani puri. Im scared but at the same time im kind of excited to experiment again.
     
    Psst – Can I grab the address of that world\’s best Pani Puri guy? 😀
     
    India is hot!! Not \’Hot\’ hot but hot. 37c in blore today 😦 But beer and football kind of levels it. Dont miss Japan Vs Aus match tonite. We gonna kick some arse!!Aussie Aussie Aussie! Oi Oi Oi!!

  11. unh unh! not lot – its just one thing engulfing my entire head. Last time this happened was loooong long back… just trying to come back to normalcy. Dont worry, will spring back even before ppl notice!

    run, scamper, shoot – have best of all the lucks!

  12. arre, tht one is now regular on small screen too. During every match and otherwise too! Its fav – beckenbaur! and the next part when the mom call and all leave! hah!

  13. HI
    THIS IS PRITEN – I ARRIVED IN MUMBAI 2 YEARS BACK AND I M FROM A PLACE THATS COMPLETELY THE OPPOSITE OF INDIA
    YES
    I M BORN N BROUGHT UP IN MUSCAT ( SULTANATE OF OMAN )
    U HAVE GIVEN A KOOL IDEA OF PUTTING UP MY VIEWS ABT MY ADVENTURES IN MUMBAI
    BUT 1 THING IS FOR SURE – LIFE IS HARD IN MUMBAI BUT MIRACLE IS THAT PEOPLE LOVE THIS HARDSHIP AND WANT TO LOVE IT FOREVER – THATS WHAT IS CALLED THE MUMBAI NAGARIYA
    PRITZ
    VISIT MY BLOG TO KNOW MORE ABT ME BY CLICKING

  14. I had so much of Paani Puri, i fell sick yesterday 🙂 It was worth the effort though 😀

    Guess you are studying now – come on sups…throw the books off and support for Australia. We beat Japs 3-1 the day before.

  15. Paani puri or rahter puchkas are much better here sis.What you talking!.But umm the golas there are excellent.I hate the golas here!.But you know what after visiting my grandma in jaipur,no food seems good enough!:P

  16. that sounds like a fun trip…i want to visit bby so bad..my husband is from bby but we have never been there together..nyways…alaska was fantastic..we did not take the cruise..we flew to anchorage and then drove around. The cruise kind of limits what all you can do and the average age on the cruise is pretty high…hehe..but it\’s convenient since everything has been taken care of..so I am sure your relatives will love it!

Leave a Reply

